He Provides the Power

      Week 10 of the semester has begun. Another 2 more weeks of lectures before our end of semester exams; oh, how time has really flown by.

      Starting Uni wasn’t easy; I do not recommend staying at home and not doing anything for 8 months. Just don’t. Being in Uni isn’t easy, but it’s not like one can just drop out eh.

      It’s ironic that when one of the reasons why I took my break was because I wanted to spend more time with God and grow deeper in Him, I only felt the physical stretching most intensely during these 3 months. 

      Almost everyday I think to myself, Did I make the right decision? Can I handle this? 

      As masochistic as it is, I think I would still choose to go through the struggles just for the end goal of being a spiritual muscle lady.


      Today is one of the rare days: I was in peace enough with whatever is going on in my life, to just shut them out and focus on spending time with my Father. 

      Today’s word came from 1 Thessalonians 1 

      ‘We [Paul, Silas and Timothy] know, dear brothers and sisters, that God loves you and has chosen you to be His own people. For when we brought you the Good News, it was not only with words but also with power, for the Holy Spirit gave you full assurance that what we said was true. And you know our concern for you from the way we lived when we were with you. So you received the message with joy from the Holy Spirit in spite of the severe suffering it brought you. In this way, you imitated both us and the Lord. As a result, you have become an example to all the believers in Greece – throughout both Macedonia and Achaia [the northern and southern regions of Greece].’ (verse 4-7)

      ‘God wanted us to know who carried the power in this project. And He wanted our faith to grow to meet the size of our opportunity.’ – Bruce Wilkinson, The Prayer of Jabez Devotional


      Just last Saturday, I challenged my Narrowstreet sheep to go and fulfill Jesus’ call at the end of Matthew 28. Predictably, some of them voiced out doubts and fears of the challenge be coming something they cannot handle. 

      What’s reassuring is this: We can always place our faith and hope that God is stretching our spiritual muscles in the midst of this stormy sea. Amazingly, even if things don’t turn out the way we expected, God still has changed something in us for the better; unexpectedly and beyond our comprehension. 

      You’re building a deeper trust. And God is at work. If you’re taking on His purposes, He will provide the power.

      – Bruce Wilkinson

      Leave a Reply

      