Season of Overflow

I’ve just received the most miraculous and breathtaking news in the world (or well in my life at least :)) – Narrowstreet‘s Gen Now Youth Festival is almost passing its 700 registration mark! 

Narrowstreet is the youth ministry of SIBKL, a church in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It serves an average of 180 youths every Saturday afternoon with a team of the most dedicated and faithful leaders. In June 2016, we will be hosting our very first youth conference (although festival makes it sound more youthful ;)) and we are aiming for 800 youths to join us in making a difference in our generation; the Now Generation. In all honesty though, Narrowstreet has been through leaps and bounds to reach the numbers and level of faith we are in today, and all of this because we serve a faithful God. Some of the leaders (myself included) couldn’t even believe that we would receive 600 registrations let alone 800! Talk about faith eh.

When Pastor Jon informed the leaders’ WhatsApp group, the leaders were overjoyed and one leader said this, season of overflow! His words made me realise that actually, he’s right. I believe that Narrowstreet has been in our season of overflow for about three years now. But it’s only now that I realise it because of the very evident rushing waters. 


Landscape

For the longest of time, I have actually been a little sceptical about the whole “being a radical for Christ” thing. Yes, I know, how shameful of a “religious leader” to have such an attitude, but come on, let’s be real for a moment. No matter how passionate we are about something, there will always be times when we will doubt ourselves and what we are passionate in. Is this real? Will revival really happen? It was only this year that I truly got those eureka moments which showed me how real and how true being passionate and radical for Christ is.

I think people have a big misconception when it comes to the word “radical.” People even have a huge misunderstanding towards Christians and Christianity. He says he is a Christian yet he still drinks alcohol. How can she call herself Christian but still be so fanatic towards some Korean actor? (Observe that these are only the simplest examples.) When people hear “radical”, they immediately picture riots, rallies, demonstrations, aggressive persuasion and maybe even, condemnation. I’ve heard and seen so many scenes where some Christians themselves behave judgemental towards others; as though they personally have never fallen down. Now that I think about it, it’s a bit of an oxymoron to picture being radical for Christ, when Christ himself didn’t portray the attitude and traits of what today’s society thinks a radical possesses. 

44 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. 47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.” – Luke 7:44-47 (Jesus Anointed by a Sinful Woman)


photo-1451885140977-ed62a6b8744e

Some of you may be wondering, What does THAT have to do with “season of overflow”? And is she only talking about numbers or is there something more to it? And for the special bunch of you, How does this even apply to me? Why, thank you for your questions; I’m very glad you asked! No, I’m not just talking about the countable but the uncountable as well. You can count the increase in your monthly commissions but you can’t count how happy someone is when you perform random acts of kindness for them. I can count how many people visit this blog but I can’t count how blessed they would be. See what I mean?

And when we overflow, what do we want to overflow of? 

Luke 6:43-45 (NIV) says:

43 “No good tree bears bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit.44 Each tree is recognized by its own fruit. People do not pick figs from thornbushes, or grapes from briers. 45 A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.

It’s not just the mouth that speaks what our heart is full of, but our actions as well.

I wonder what is in the hearts of the 180 Narrowstreet youths who invited their 600 friends. What made them catch the spirit of “go and make disciples of all nations” (Matthew 28:19? What are they overflowing of?

I think they overflow with Christ’s radical love. This love is patient and kind; it does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth (1 Corinthians 13:4-6). And I can’t wait for the rest of my generation to overflow with the same love too.

Leave a Reply

